Weekly Snap Shot: Classic Makeup Favs

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 8.40.42 PM

I love things to be organized and minimal. I hate clutter. But somehow clutter always seems to find me. I turn into the Tasmanian Devil when I am getting ready. Everyday I seem to be reorganizing something, already knowing that it will be a disaster again in 12 hours. It is a never ending cycle with me.

Today I was working on organizing my makeup. After spending several years working in a salon, my arsenal of beauty products is a little ridiculous. It got me thinking that truly, I have a handful of go-to, never let me down, products that I could absolutely never live without. There are so many YouTube channels and blogs dedicated to this field. Everyone is always trying something different and looking for the miracle worker. And once we find something “amazing,” still we continue searching for a newer and better product.

I have compiled a list of classics that I truly believe would impress even the pickiest of women. These are products that I use every single day, and that I have also applied on for clients. They are universal classics that are truly staples for every day life. They are great for running to the grocery store, work, or even an interview where minimal is better.

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 4.49.14 PM

#1. The Urban Decay Naked line has been smashing sales records for the past several seasons and for good reason. It is truly an amazing product. But for this list, I want to focus on the Naked Basics. Compared to the other, larger pallets, this is very compact and will fit into any makeup bag. When packing for a weekend outing, this always goes because it covers my needs. There are six natural shades that are great for everyday wear. I always enhance the wear time and application of these eyeshadows with the corresponding Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion.

#2. Drum Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 6.38.08 PMroll please….The Beauty Blender! This is the absolute best invention ever made in the foundation realm. Turn the faucet on and put the egg under the running water. Squeeze the egg about 10x under the water and then squeeze the excess water out. I pump a small amount of foundation on the back of my hand and stipple the foundation over my face. You can use the smaller end of the egg to get into the creases around your nose and other precision areas. I also like to use the smaller side of the Beauty Blender for concealer. The result leaves you with a professional, flawless finish. I tend to have blotchy, red skin and the occasional breakout and the BeautyBlender helps even out my complexion. I call it my Miracle Sponge.

#3. Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 7.44.08 PMBB and CC cream have been all of the rage in the past year or so. During the summer I have always loved wearing a tinted moisturizer instead of a traditional foundation because it’s light-weight and carefree. My only complaint was I never felt like I had enough coverage. So how do you find the light-weight feel you want during warmer weather but with enough coverage that you can still walk out of the house with 100% confidence. Smashbox Camera Ready CC Cream with Broad Spectrum SPF 30 has ticked every box in the book for me. When I go out in the hot, HUMID Iowa weather I feel as if I don’t have anything on my face, it moisturizes well, and doesn’t melt off in 20 minutes. I use the Beauty Blender to apply it but you can also use your finger tips with an even finish.

#4. Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 7.49.44 PMI have looked back through old pictures of me, and I have always noticed one thing–whether or not I had a concealer under my eyes or not. There is nothing that makes you look drearier than dark shadows. I have searched high and low for something that looks natural and finally about a year ago Bare Minerals released it. The Stroke of Light Eye Brightener is a God send. I dabble just a bit on under my eyes (in a triangle shape towards the nose) and touch it up with (again) the BeautyBlender. This is something that you do after you have already applied your foundation. It gives you the 10-blissful-hours of sleep look even when you are lucky to achieve half of that. It is free of sulfates, parabens, and the rest of the no-no list. Bare Minerals products have truly become one of the staples in my makeup reservoir. In the past 18 months, they have made leaps and bounds to produce what consumers are looking for in their beauty routine. If you tried Bare Minerals three years ago and didn’t love it, I would come back around to the idea. I did, and so far I have been nothing but impressed.

#Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 8.24.27 PM5. The last Makeup Classic item that I would like to share about today is the thing I think all of us switch through the most. I personally found 13 different bottles of this to pitch today as I was cleaning. It is mascara. Every time us females are at the store, we try something new always looking for the perfect one. And we never ever love it. There is always something better out there. There has to be, right?? I have found two mascaras that are at a dead tie for me. I use them interchangeably, every day, and sometimes together. And when they are empty (even though I have others to use), I still go out and replace these. My first choice (and probably the one I like just a smidgen better) is Bare Minerals Lash Domination. When this came out, I was working at the salon and it was our number one best seller for months. All of our stylists and estheticians loved it, our clients loved it, and I loved it. It has a nice handle so that you can easily rotate the brush in your hands. It goes on smoothly and makes a huge difference in the volume/length department. I could go on for days about the qualities to this mascara, but this Sephora link does a great job of explaining all of the details. The other mascara I have been really loving (especially if you have thin lashes like me) is the Perversion by Urban Decay. If I am playing up the eye, this is my go-to because it really gives a powerful punch.


I am not a beauty expert. I am the girl who really knew absolutely nothing about the fundamentals of makeup application until I was 20 years old, and even then I have came a long way. The products on this list are the ones I have found to be the most user friendly for the most people. They are the things that not many people regret purchasing because they’re easy and they work. The most important reason why I come back to these products time and time again is because for a 20-something just starting out on her own, the price point can’t be beat for the quality.

What are your classic picks? I would love to know. True to girl form, I am always searching for the next best thing 😉 !

Leave a Reply

