Personal Space

The past few days have been fantastic. My grandparents live near St. Ambrose, so when I had an event to attend there this Saturday, I was also able to spend a day with them. We went to a bunch of local antique shops and I found so many beautiful pieces (even a few that came home with me!). IMG_0135_Fotor

It is truly amazing the amount of beautiful handmade or antique pieces you can add to your home for very little money (if you take the time to look) that helps add uniqueness to any room. Unfortunately this table above did not come home with me, but instead I found a handmade rug and a copy of Hamlet and Black Beauty printed at the turn of the 20th century that were in great condition. I was looking for pieces specifically for my office, and am really excited to show you guys eventually how it will turn out. While interior decor and architecture have always been a great passion of mine, I am finally at the stage in my life where I have my own space and am able to do (a bit) more than window shop, or at least more than when I lived in a dorm room with cinder block walls and prison furniture from the 60s. At this point, it is baby steps into adulthood. Finding affordable pieces that you are able to DIY-it-up a bit (search “IKEA hack” on Pinterest, you will thank me later) and transform your 20-somethings place into something that isn’t the family joke 10 years down the road; a place you are able to feel inspired in to live life beautifully.

I am one of those people that if my space is cluttered, I can’t even function. My living environment is a direct reflection on my mental state. That is one of the biggest reasons that redecorating my office has become a #1 priority. I am applying to graduate school, looking for a full-time job, and pursuing my dream of writing. Those have become my focus, and having an office space to reflect who I am and what I want is important. It is really no different from a family deciding to remodel a kitchen, where many admit that Headquarters is stationed in many households, they are making changes to reflect the new focus–family time. It is no different in your 20s. Find a space in your home that you can reflect who you are and where you are going. It is amazing how good you will feel in that space, wherever it may be, when you can look around and say, “This is me. This is where I want to be. And this is where I am going.”

Screen Shot 2015-02-17 at 12.42.28 PM

Leave a Reply

